How it’s Made- Wool Felt Hats: Part 2

Part 2 of how I make felt hats:

 Here’s how it looks after it is taken off the hat block. Hat 1The hat band is sewn in at the base of the crown.Hat 2
Then we finish the brim. I decided to use a pink contrast stitch to finish it, but the millinery ribbon can also be used. Hat 4
Then the excess felt is trimmed off. Hat 5
The felt stiffener is applied with a brush to the entire inside of the hat to help it keep its shape. Hat 6Don’t forget the label! Hat 3
Once the stiffener is dried, we get to embellish it! I chose this silk fabric with a fun print to make a band that ties in the back. Hat 7

And there you have it! Isn’t it just perfect for spring?

Full-shot Close-up Back

If you missed Part 1, see it here: Part 1

What I’m wearing:
Dress: AG Flower Garden Dress
Jacket: AG Coconut’s Best Friend
Shoes: AG Real Me Outfit

11 thoughts on “How it’s Made- Wool Felt Hats: Part 2

  1. Thanks for taking the time to show us how to do this. Beautiful. I’m thinking of taking a one-day workshop through RISD’s Continuing Ed on how to make wet-felted sculptural objects (like hats). I was on the fence about it, but my AGs might start lobbying for me to go.

  2. This was wonderful! I find myself googling “doll hat block” now, because this looks like such fun. Thank you so much for this behind-the-scenes glimpse into Clarisse’s beautiful hat collection!

  3. Beautiful! Where would one inquire about a custom made wooden hat form? And I would be excited to see you open an etsy shop for knitted things and hats, etc!

  4. Very cute! I had been wanting to try something like this after seeing your super stylish little hats. Thank you for giving us some direction. My daughter and I always look forward to your new posts.

  5. Thanks for sharing how this is done–you make it look so easy, when I’m sure there is lots of skill involved. Count me as another who would be very excited for an Etsy shop!

  6. Very inspired to give it a try…Looks like I need to go shopping for a hat form or two also.. wool felt comes in so many wonderful colors.

Leave a Reply

