Questions for Clarisse: The Gardening Outfit

Question from Anne and Ruthie: “We have the AG Gardening Outfit from 2002. It consists of a linen top, open at the back, and a pair of purple linen capris, but we don’t know how else to wear it! The whole set feels dated to us…nobody likes to look 90s unless it’s *very* intentional, am-i-right? We were thinking maybe the top over Saige’s jeggings and sandals, but wondered if you had other ideas. Bless!”

I used to adore this outfit when I was younger, but it has not yet made it into my wardrobe (though after playing around with the possibilities, I’m keeping my eye out for it once again!). I used a virtual outfit creating website (Polyvore) to come up with some outfits. There are mostly doll sized pieces, and I filled in the gaps with girl-sized basics that can easily be translated into things your doll may have in her wardrobe. 

Casual Cutie: Try pairing the pants from the outfit with a cute tee and colorful accessory! Here the bright pink scarf makes the outfit extra stylish, but still easy and fun for a day running around with friends.
Outfit 1

Pieces Shown:
Tee: AG Coconut Cutie
Shoes: AG Bow-toe Moccasins 

 Boho Chic: The peplum look is actually quite popular right now, so this top translates well into a modern outfit! This long floral skirt from Etsy is a great choice not only because of how well the colors complement each other, but because the fit-and-flare cut works well with the peplum-style ruffle so that there isn’t too much poof at the waist (such as with a gathered skirt).
Outfit 2
Pieces Shown:
Skirt: Everyday Dollwear on Etsy 
Shoes: AG Saige’s Sweater Outfit 
Hat: AG Seaside Tote Set 

Vacation ready: I thought the hat from the Gardening outfit actually worked quite well for this touristy look! A fitted sleeveless top balances the loose-fitting pants, and the red adds a more bright and modern contrast to the pastel pants.
Outfit 3
Pieces Shown:
Top: The Glam Doll on Etsy 
Shoes: AG Pretty Party
Bag: AG Saige’s Accessories 

Lookin’ Smart: I just love the new striped blazer from AG, and I think it looks super stylish paired with this top! Try it with a blazer and some leggings or slim fitting jeans and a pair of glasses, and you have the perfect look for back-to-school!
Outfit 4
Pieces Shown:
Blazer: AG Bright Stripes 
Leggings: AG Tropical Bloom 
Shoes: AG Ruffled Hoodie 
Glasses: AG Sweet Peach Glasses 

I hope this helps give you some ideas!

IMG_1561
Have a question about Clarisse’s style? Have a piece in your wardrobe that you need help styling? Or are you just in a style rut and can’t seem to find your way out? Leave a comment here or send Clarisse a message via the “Contact Me” link at the top of the page, and Clarisse will answer your fashion questions here on the blog!

8 thoughts on “Questions for Clarisse: The Gardening Outfit

  1. Anne and Ruthie would like to send their thanks! They think this will help them use a long-neglected outfit anew 🙂 Always good to shop your own closet!

  2. Great suggestions! I keep flip flopping on liking and not liking the AG Bright Stripes Outfit. I think it is back on the “like” list again. My favorite is the first outfit – the pants bring out the blue in the Coconut Cutie top while the scarf brings out the pink.

  3. We have these super cute hot pink capris, but have no idea what to wear with such a statement. If you have ideas, I would love to see what you think! Love your blog, it’s so cute!

  4. Hi Clarisse!
    So I have an outfit that I would love for you to help me with. It is the flower sweater and skirt set from AGs summer release last year. I would love to buy the outfit, but I need help convincing myself that it would be a good outfit to buy…could you show me some mix and match potential in it? I know it’s there…:)

Leave a Reply

